Leo Geyer

Composer and Conductor

Artistic Director:  

Twitter circle blue large

Book of the Underworld (2013)

Book of the Underworld was premiered by Leo Geyer on the 5th of July 2013 at the British Museum.

for bassoon



Commissioned for The British Museum

Duration: 5'

Sarcophagus – Leo Geyer


This piece was inspired by Sarcophagus of Nectanebo II, which is displayed by the British Museum. The title The Book of the Underworld refers to the hieroglyphs that cover the sarcophagus which depict a number of sections of the funerary text known as the Amduat, or 'Book of what is in the Underworld'. The cover picture shows a section of the hieroglyphs.


To create this composition I used a selection of the symbols and translated them into small musical cells. These snippets of music are added one by one to create a large coherent structure, just as the hieroglyphs are added together to form the funerary text.  


Nightscape is available to purchase for £10.00 excluding postage.